Being Interviewed

Lets just start off with this….

“I am awful at interviews.”

The odd thing is, I don’t get very nervous before interviews. If anything, I am more excited than anything. So theoretically speaking, I should be able to rock any sort of interview with no problem. Unfortunately that is not the case. Regardless of whether or not I am not nervous before an interview, I plainly just suck at selling myself. Most interviews turnout to be conversations about the company because I have a tendency to deflect questions where I need to “brag” about myself. In situations when I have no choice but to tell the employer what I excel at, I don’t know what to tell them.

“Jack of all trades, master of none, but better than a master of one.” is a quote that I live by. I don’t know why, but when I first heard the entire phrase for “jack of all trades”, which tends to have a negative connotation to it, I instantly felt connected to the words. It may be because I personally believe/think that I am not particularly good at something. I never honed any of my skills to be good enough to consider myself a master. However, I have gotten to the point where a lot of the things I can do, is above average… I think. Unfortunately, this has backfired on me because I don’t know what to tell employers. I can talk for hours about what I am bad at and reasons why I am potentially a terrible candidate, but I can’t seem to talk “good” about myself naturally.

Despite my absolutely terrible interviewing skills, I have been fortunate enough to have had two internships. So… maybe they took a liking to my pessimistic train of thought. However, I would like to start honing some specific skills so that I am confidently able to tell anyone, that I am good at, at least one thing… Adding onto another thing about what I need to improve upon instead of adding onto my bucket-list.

 

 

https://www.glassdoor.com/blog/7-reasons-you-werent-hired/?utm_source=newsletter&utm_medium=email&utm_content=7_reasons_hired_us17&utm_campaign=mar17_us

 

 

Leave a Reply

